Dallas Assault Defense Lawyer
Call a Seasoned Dallas Criminal Defense Attorney—(214) 307-8667
Whether you’ve been accused of assault or aggravated assault, you’re facing one of the most serious charges of your life. An assault conviction puts a violent crime on your record—affecting your ability to find employment, win custody of your children, or maintain your freedom. Attorney Peter Barrett understands your fear, and our firm will fight for your freedom and your future with effective defense tactics.
For over 20 years, Peter Barrett has been a premier Dallas criminal defense attorney, protecting the accused from groundless accusations and harsh penalties. Since 1994, he has represented more than 3,000 clients, all of whom were facing life-changing consequences. Whether your case requires a reduction of your charges or a dismissal of your case, Mr. Barrett understands the best route to take for your case. Like thousands before you, you can be confident entrusting us with your case.
As a former president of the Dallas Criminal Defense Lawyer’s Association, Attorney Peter Barrett is a leader in the field of criminal defense, and his work has led to the acquittal or dismissals of countless clients. No matter the level of your charge, our Dallas assault defense attorney can help you face this situation with peace and confidence.
What are the Categories of Assault in Texas?
The categories of assault in Texas are:
Class C Misdemeanor is when a person threatens another with bodily harm or causes physical contact in a provocative or offensive way, and no other aggravating factors are present.
Class B Misdemeanor is when a person commits an assault against someone in a sporting event or because of a performance
Class A Misdemeanor is when a person causes bodily injury to another including the elderly and no other aggravating factors are present.
3rd-degree felony is when a person assaults someone who is a family member, a person who contracts with government services for family services such as Child Protective Services.
2nd-degree felony is when a person knowingly or accidentally preventing the breathing of another person or by chocking
- 1st-degree felony is when the aggravated assault is committed against a police officer, security guard, informant, or someone you have a domestic relationship with.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Texas?
The penalties for assault in Texas vary depending on the classification
of the assault.
There are generally Class A, B, C misdemeanors, and 1st,2nd, and 3rd-degree felonies.
The punishments are:
- Class C Misdemeanors: Up to $500 fine
- Class B Misdemeanors: Up to $2,000 fine, and up to 180 days in jail
- Class A Misdemeanors: Up to $4,000 fine and up to 1 year in jail
- 1st-degree felony: Fines and 5 years up to life in prison
- 2nd-degree felony: Fine of up to $10,000 and 2-20 years in prison
- 3rd-degree felony: Fine of up to $10,000 and up to 10 years in prison
Can Assault Charges be Dropped in Texas?
Assault charges can only be dropped by the authorities and not by the victim. The victim cannot suddenly decide that the state must drop an assault charge. Only the prosecutor can decide if the charge will be dismissed or if the case will proceed to court. Often, an assault charge is made after a heated argument or some domestic crisis compels a wife, husband, girlfriend or boyfriend to contact police in order to calm things down. Unfortunately, this can set in motion a series of events which can then proceed without control by the complainant.
Call (214) 307-8667 or contact us online for a confidential consultation to learn your defense options.
Mr. Barrett is the best in the business.- Carlos Ramirez
Best attorney I have ever used.- Duane
Best Criminal Defense Attorney in Dallas.- Tom
I was introduced to Mr. Barrett and he changed my life!!- Shannon
Professional, Trustworthy and Reliable Criminal Defense Attorney.- Jim